The Chowder Slam: Less than a week away….

I am getting antsy, as the slam is a coming, and I am unsure as to how I am going to make my chowder. All I know is that I want Lamb Belly/Breast to be included. I already purchased it yesterday as I feared there would be a run on lamb in the coming week. As my Mom would say, “you never know…” god bless her.

lamb-belly

It was hard to find the lamb belly. I initially hoped to find it at the farmers market, but no such luck. I even went to Marlow & Daughters, but they were charging an eye-popping $18 a pound. That is truly sad, plus the belly had all the fat taken off.

Anyhow, I found the lamb by using this nifty thing called the internet. I sent a question out into the ether (chowhound actually) and got an answer I could use! I was so happy.  So happy in fact that I didn’t get super pissed after someone posted that it was “breast” and not “belly” I was after.  I wanted to tell him to (I will have to put a quarter in the swear jar) “fuck right off!”

So I am going to cure the lamb with sugar, salt, cumin, corriander, fennel, star anise, and cinnamon then braise and press it. It will not be added until after I make the chowder base. The base is giving me the most fits. It will be a corn, potato, curry base…How I get there is anybody’s guess. Stay tuned…

1 Response to “The Chowder Slam: Less than a week away….”


  1. 1 elmo birthday party ideas July 10, 2013 at 6:49 am

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you are a great author.I will remember
    to bookmark your blog and may come back later in life.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice evening!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Connect

flickr
facebook
rss
twitter