Cookin’ with Kids…

The little ones at rest, rare photo

The little ones at rest, rare photo

Is it possible for such cute kids to cook? ….Yes…But, you need the patience of several saints…Not because they are wild or crazy…no just all over the place, today I asked myself, how can they be in all places at once? I am exhausted and all I made was cookies…

I have been cooking with my niece for several months, actually we started after her second birthday. My nephew is a two years younger, but he is starting to walk…I am not sure I am ready…

If you had two young children as sous-chefs, what would you make? I am looking for suggestions. I am almost out of ideas. Last week we made marzipan. Actually, we didn’t make marzipan….we just got out all of her play dough toys and made shapes. I will tell you that I think this works. They get as messy as humanly possible, I found marzipan in my shoe – and I was wearing boots.

3 Responses to “Cookin’ with Kids…”


  1. 1 Karin April 18, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Hey Theo, that pic is really cute. We’ll have to have a pic takedown :). My girls love to cook too and Brooke is always sticking her whole face into what ever she helps with. She’s a big sniffer and looks to see if things smell “poopy.” The pasta pics were impressive. Never made homemade pasta.

  2. 2 Ted April 20, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Homemade pizza.

    They can play with the dough, and the toppings.

    You just need to cut anything that needs cutting before hand.

    It takes a short time to bake and the two year old will enjoy eating it, the baby wearing it.

  3. 3 Jenn June 5, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Theo – you are indeed the best uncle ever, but “girlfriend’s” nieces take the prize. Blood is thicker than water, what can I say! Looking forward to the Beer Experiment!! See you there! Jenn (cousin of “girlfriend”)


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Connect

flickr
facebook
rss
twitter