So You Want to Make Pasta Like TK

When I was working in Maine, I was quite lucky. With the exception that I was living with a giant bi…wow, let’s not go there…I will tell you that I miss the dog. She was a bitch too, but in a good way. Shoot, I knew I would let it slip.

She was my diva dog

She was my diva dog

Anyway, this post is about pasta. I was working at Hugo’s – a great restaurant run by a former sous-chef of Thomas Keller, Rob Evans. He was a very cool guy and a fantastic chef. I think he should have opened a place in New York, he would just kill it. Frankly, I still think he should. Unlike a lot of people I see opening restaurants, he earned his stripes. Well, one of my jobs everyday was to make the pasta, the way TK would make it. That means – NO KITCHEN AID – you dig!! We knead the pasta by hand. You knead the pasta everyday for 30 minutes. You dig. I really do miss the dog.

As you might recall (if you are one of the five people who read this blog), I had an abundance of egg yolks from the white cake I made for my niece. I could think of only one thing I could make with an extra 12 egg yolks –  TK’s pasta. It is absolutely the best pasta you will ever make. It is rich, tender, and has just enough of a bite.  It starts off really wet and slightly hard to control, that is why I usually recommend preparing it on a metal surface. Plus, if you use a metal surface, you will end up using less flour.  The recipe says 2 1/2 cups…but it should be closer to 2 cups.

So, start it like you would any pasta.  Make a well with the flour and add the wet ingredients to the center.  You should use a bench scrapper and a fork to help you mix the ingredients into a controllable ball. The surface of the ball will be rough.

That is a mix of the yolks, eggs, milk, and oil

That is a mix of the yolks, eggs, milk, and oil

Look how the ball is rough, it just came together

Look how the ball is rough, it just came together

When you knead, make sure you are using the bottom of your palm and pushing hard into the counter and folding the dough over onto itself. And now you knead, and knead, and knead..until it is smooth.  Think 30 minutes.  I do not want to seem like a chauvinist ass, but they used to tell me, “When it feels like a woman’s breast, it’s ready.” I hate to tell you what they said when I made banana foster.  If you do not know what a breast feels like, then push your thumb into the ball and when it slowly regains its shape, it is ready….

Ready!!!

It looks so good when its so smooth

Looks smooth

Looks smooth

Now, dust with flour, wrap it tight in saran, refrigerate, and let it rest…at least 1 hour…

I was bringing it to my girlfriends, and I didn't have a pasta roller. If you are going to use a rolling pin, remember you will be working hard....  remember to clean the kitchen counter of cat hair when at you girlfriends house

I was bringing it to my girlfriends, and I didn't have a pasta roller. If you are going to use a rolling pin, remember you will be working hard.... remember to clean the kitchen counter of cat hair when at your girlfriends house

Not as thin as I would like it

Not as thin as I would like it

the final product

the final product

TK Pasta

2 – 2 1/2 cups   flour

12     Egg yolks

2       Whole eggs

2T     Milk

1T      Olive Oil

1/2T  Salt

If you have any questions, just leave me a comment and I will get back to you…

Have a nice day..



7 Responses to “So You Want to Make Pasta Like TK”


  1. 1 Ted April 20, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Why didn’t you use a metal surface, you hypocrite?

  2. 2 TEDDY April 20, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    some of us ain’t so rich to have metal table tops in our home kitchens….you talk like a republican

  3. 3 Sandra March 18, 2013 at 5:15 am

    Awesome issues here. I’m very glad to peer your post. Thanks so much and I am having a look forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  4. 4 workout November 13, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    You could certainly see your skills in the article you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time go after your heart.

  5. 5 https://vaughnbjerregaard81.wordpress.com/2016/09/02/get-included-in-netflix-with-these-solid-ideas/ September 4, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    Thanks for finalⅼy talking аbout >Ѕo Yoᥙ Wɑnt to Ꮇake Pasta
    Liҝe TK | Carnivore ᕼearts Herbivore <Loved it!

  6. 6 spirit Airlines December 14, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so
    i got here to ?go back the want?.I’m trying to find issues to improve my site!I suppose its adequate to make
    use of some of your ideas!!


  1. 1 Part II – Did Actually Do Something Right? What a Night!! « Carnivore Hearts Herbivore Trackback on June 17, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Connect

flickr
facebook
rss
twitter