One Year Later…

How Am I Doin?

How Am I Doin?

I realized last night (when I started this post it was “last night”) that it had been a year since I began this quixotic quest to recover.  Recover basically after I lost it all. This has been no easy task. I got so close to owning my own business that sometimes I lose sleep at night thinking about it. I have had so many restless nights that my light sleeping Girlfriend is more tired than she needs to be.

What could have been a terrible year has turned out to be surprisingly uplifting. I was just thinking about my choice of word, uplifting. I feel more positive about my future even though I do not show it for fear of ruining my reputation as a neurotic Jew. I will admit that most of it is due to my incredibly supportive, super patient Girlfriend.

casserole crazy 2008

the crowning of last year's king

The reason for looking back is that last night was the Casserole Crazy contest at Brooklyn Label. A year ago I was introduced to the world of competitive cooking and was anointed Casserole King. Though I did not win last night’s casserole contest, I realized later on (much later on) that I didn’t care about winning. All I had to do was look around and see how it has all changed for the better.  I was happy that my friend won the contest. A friend I did not have a year ago. I am writing about it on a blog that I did not have a year ago. A year ago I lived alone in Manhattan. Now, I am in an apartment that I share with the Girlfriend in BROOKLYN. This makes me really happy. Is this getting sappy yet? I could get a lot worse. I mean, the new apartment is filled with mosquitoes and it is October.

To be honest, I thought that I would have a clear direction by now, that I would be laser focused on a single challenge. Yet, I feel constantly pulled in different directions. I have the cooking competitions, freelance catering gigs, underground restaurant work, paté entrepreneur, consulting, etc. It might seem great to have unique challenges present themselves constantly, but the grass in always greener. The idea of one solid paycheck is tempting. It would ease my worried heart. I live in New York, not South Dakota. You need a good paycheck. How else am I going to eat well? My friends, I like to eat well….

Overall, I’m happy-ish and that is alright for now.

casserole

Kentucky Fried Casserole - yum

 

 

3 Responses to “One Year Later…”


  1. 1 Ted October 30, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    um . . . And my Georgia friend came up to visit me and name my first casserole competition winning dish.

    Jeez what does a blog poster have to do to get some props around here?

    It’s all I love my patient girlfriend and my new fancy smancy cooking buddy, blah blah blah

  2. 2 TEDDY October 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Whoa, lets settle down Georgia. Next you are going to talk about god while chopping on Chow-Chow. I made a Jimmy Carter reference, who makes a Jimmy Carter reference. Actually, I should say that you were there at the beginning. You flew up to New York when the shit hit the fan. I thank you, it meant alot to me. Plus, this is a good sign that I might become a big success. Big Successes always forget the one who were there for them in the beginning…Love T

  3. 3 Ted November 2, 2009 at 10:34 am

    That’s more like it.

    What the Hell is chow-chow anyway, I still don’t know. Guess I need to live another 30 or so years down here where we spell GOD with all three letters capitalized.

    Happy to be the Peter Scolari to your Tom Hanks.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Connect

flickr
facebook
rss
twitter